HomeEducationKnow About Eligibility Criteria for UPSC Exam

Know About Eligibility Criteria for UPSC Exam

The Union Public Service Commission or UPSC conducts various exams for recruitment to different positions in the Indian civil services. The UPSC exams are known to be one of the toughest exams in India, and they provide a gateway to some of the most prestigious positions in the country. But not everyone can be eligible for the positions or even appear for the exam as there are a few strict UPSC eligibility criteria that must be satisfied by the aspirants to take part in the recruitment process.

The Commission prescribes and releases the eligibility conditions as part of the official notification for those who are preparing to participate in the recruitment drive. Hence, it is essential to check the detailed Eligibility criteria for UPSC Exam mentioned below.

UPSC Eligibility Criteria

The first and foremost step before applying for the exam is to know about the eligibility criteria for UPSC Exam. Candidates who do not meet the eligibility criteria will not be allowed to appear for the exams, and even if they do, their candidature may be rejected later on during the selection process.

Therefore, checking the latest eligibility criteria will not only save time and effort but also prevent the aspirants from wasting money on the application fee and other expenses. We have divided the criteria into different parts and elaborated on them to make it easier to understand. Here are the different parameters listed under UPSC Eligibility:

  • Age Limit
  • Educational qualification
  • Nationality
  • Number of Attempts

UPSC Age Limit

As per the UPSC eligibility criteria, candidates should have completed 21 years of age and should not be older than 32 years of age as of August 1st, 2023, meaning their birth date should fall between August 2nd, 1990, and August 1st, 2001. Currently, the official age limit for the general category for IAS 2023 is 32 years, and for OBC, it is 35 years.

However, there are also certain age relaxations provided to the reserved categories.

  • SC / ST – 5 years
  • OBC – 3 years
  • EX-Servicemen – 5 years
  • Disabled Defense Services Personnel – 3 years
  • Benchmark Disability- EWS – 10 years

Number of Attempts

The UPSC number of attempts refers to the maximum number of times a candidate can appear for the IAS exam. The number of attempts is limited for each category of candidates, and it is directly related to the age limit. For instance, the General category candidates can make a total of 6 attempts and must not exceed the age limit of 32 years. Candidates must cover the IAS Syllabus properly to ensure that they crack the exam in minimum attempts.

UPSC Educational Qualification

For candidates to qualify for the UPSC exam, they must satisfy specific academic requirements. The educational qualifications for UPSC are explained in detail below.

  • As per the UPSC eligibility criteria, candidates must hold a degree from a recognized government university or possess an equivalent IAS qualification.
  • There is no mention of any specific percentage required to be eligible for the exam. The only requirement is to have a graduation degree.
  • Final year students who are waiting for their results can also apply for the UPSC exam, provided they furnish proof of passing the said exam.
  • Medical students who have cleared their final year are also eligible for the exam, but they must provide the course completion certificate along with their UPSC Mains examination application.

UPSC Eligibility – Nationality

As per the eligibility criteria for UPSC Exam, candidates must follow the nationality condition to be eligible. Under this criteria:

  • The candidate must be an Indian citizen.
  • The candidate must be a subject of Nepal/Bhutan.
  • The candidate must be a refugee from Tibet who came to India before January 1, 1962, to settle in India permanently.
  • The candidate must be of Indian origin and have migrated to India from Burma, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, East African countries, or Vietnam to settle permanently in India.